James Wright: Collected Poems

from Collected Poems by James Wright

Ten Short Poems
The Heights of Macchuu Picchu_III
The Rats
A Winter Night
I Am Freed
White Rose
A Divine Falling of Leaves
Down to the Dregs
Not in Marble Palaces

Purchase Book

Return to Modernist Poetry Homepage

JAMES WRIGHT (1927-1980) was born in Martins Ferry, Ohio. He was well known for his translations of Pablo Neruda and Cesar Vallejo and for his poems about the Midwest. He received the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 1972 for this volume, Collected Poems. Other Wright books published by Wesleyan are Saint Judas (1959), The Branch Will Not Break (1963), and Shall We Gather at the River (1968). Above the River: The Complete Poems (1990) and Selected Poems (2005) were co-published by Wesleyan and Farrar, Straus and Giroux.